- covering the world of women's sport
Top Headlines
Women's Pro Sports
Women's Collegiate
Women's Fitness
Athlete Profiles
National Teams
Photo Galleries
SI  Watch
Sports History
The Gift Shop
WSPW Press Kit
Submit Story


Mirza, Craybas awarded Indian Wells wildcards

sania mirza bnp paribas
Popular Indian tennis star Sania Mirza gets wildcard entry to Indian Wells

Paul Martinez / PHOTOSPORT

Press Services

Indian Wells, Calif., Feb 28, 2011 – Rising stars Coco Vandeweghe, and Christina McHale, and veterans Vania King, Jill Craybas and Sania Mirza were granted wildcards into the main draws for Indian Wells, to be held March 7-20, 2011 at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden.

     Tournament Director Steve Simon announced a host of Americans to be granted wildcards into the main draw, including youngsters Coco Vandeweghe, Christina McHale, Lauren Davis, and Sloane Stephens.

     Vandeweghe, from San Diego, was part of the US Fed Cup team that competed in the finals against Italy last November. A few weeks ago she reached the quarterfinals of Memphis. McHale, who reached the semifinals at Quebec City last fall, also helped the US Fed Cup team to the finals last year by assisting in a win over France early in 2010.

     Stephens played through qualifying at Indian Wells last year and made it to the second round of the main draw. Davis finished 2010 as the No. 3 ranked junior in the world.

     In addition, veterans Vania King, who captured two Grand Slam doubles titles in 2010, (w/Shvedova) at Wimbledon and the US Open, and reached the semifinals at Strasbourg in singles; Jill Craybas, who reached the third round of Indian Wells and the quarterfinals of multiple Tour events in 2010; and Sania Mirza, a former top-30 ranked Indian star, also received wildcards into the main draw.

     There is one remaining women’s main draw wildcard to be granted.

     Former top 30 German star Sabine Lisicki, three young Americans, Madison Keys, Madison Brengle and Maria Sanchez, and rising Puerto Rican junior Monica Puig, were granted wildcards into the women’s qualifying draw.

     Lisicki won a WTA event at Charleston in 2009 and reached No. 22 in the world, Keys became one of the youngest winners in WTA history two years ago when she won her first career WTA match at Ponte Vedra when she was 14 years old, Brengle has multiple ITF circuit titles to her name, Sanchez is currently the top ranked player in women’s college tennis and plays for USC, and Puig recently reached the finals at the Australian Open Junior Championships.

     There are two more qualifying draw wildcards to be distributed and will be given to the men’s and women’s winner of Indian Wells Pre-Qualifier, which begins tomorrow in Indian Wells and runs through March 6. Between the men and women, the Pre-Qualifier had a record 145 entries.

More Indian Wells coverage:

 Photo Gallery

jill craybas (c) Matt Dunn PHOTOSPORT

Jill Craybas

shahar peer and vania king (c) PHOTOSPORT

Shahar Peer, Vania King

contact | privacy policy | jobs
©2007 Sports PhotoWorld Magazine